Call 24/7 1-800-748-4024
The average cost of assisted living in Ohio is $3,890 per month. This is higher than the national average which is $2,877 per month.
In Ohio there are 334 assisted living facilities. We can help you find the best matches for your needs.
Assisted living in Ohio is paid for privately, either by individuals in combination with their families, or in some cases, by long-term care insurance policies. The Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver will cover the cost of services received in an assisted living facility for qualified low-income individuals, but does not pay for room and board.
The landscape of The Buckeye State is varied, with the coastal feel of Lake Eerie, pastoral rivers and the stunning Hocking Hills region at the foot of the Appalachian Mountains.
With a number of museums, cultural venues, amenities and services easily available, seniors who choose assisted living in Ohio will love the perfect balance of a big-city lifestyle with the quaint, homey feeling of a small town.
In Ohio, an “assisted living facility” and “residential care facility” are considered the same thing. The Ohio Department of Health defines residential care facilities as homes that provide accommodations for:
Assisted living facilities in Ohio vary in design and style. The range of options is meant to meet the differing consumer preferences and needs.
Assisted living facilities in Ohio are licensed by the Ohio Department of Health. Each facility receives at least one unannounced inspection during a 9- to 15-month survey cycle. All aspects of care and services are evaluated during these inspections, based on state laws. Each residential care facility is required to display a copy of the most recent survey so that consumers may review it.
Direct care staff at Ohio assisted living communities must undergo background checks, must be at least 16 years of age and have the proper training. Eight additional hours of training is mandatory each year. If therapeutic diets are offered at a facility, policies require that a dietician be on staff.
At least two staff members trained in First Aid must be on call all night and an administrator must be in the building no fewer than 20 hours a week. If an assisted living home offers skilled nursing care, then it must be managed by an on-site Registered Nurse (RN).
Tap to Call Us 1-800-748-4024